Tess Woods

Love at First Flight

Synopsis

Love at First Flight

A family is threatened by an irresistible attraction in this compelling debut that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Anita Shreve.

Looking back on it now, I can see it was instant. The second we locked eyes. Boom. Just like that. The me I had spent a lifetime perfecting began its disintegration from that moment. And despite the carnage it brought to all our lives, I still don’t regret it.

What would you risk to be with the love of your life? And what if your soul mate is the one who will destroy you?

Mel is living the dream. She’s a successful GP, married to a charming anaesthetist and raising a beautiful family in their plush home in Perth. But when she boards a flight to Melbourne, she meets Matt and her picture perfect Stepford life unravels as she falls in love for the first time ever.

What begins as a flirty conversation between strangers quickly develops into a hot and obsessive affair with disastrous consequences neither Mel nor Matt could have ever seen coming. Mel’s dream life turns into her worst nightmare.

Love at First Flight will take everything you believe about what true love is and spin it on its head.

Author Bio

Tess Woods

Tess Woods is a health professional who lives in Perth, Australia with one husband, two children, one dog and one cat who rules over all of them. Love at First Flight is her first novel for HarperCollins Australia. When she isn't working or being a personal assistant to her kids, Tess enjoys reading and all kinds of grannyish pleasures like knitting, baking, drinking tea, watching Downton Abbey and tending to the veggie patch.

Interview

Can you tell us a little more about your book?

My story is an unconventional love story that doesn't really stick to the romance genre rules. It's told in the first person of both Mel and Matt so the reader sees the story unfold from both points of view.

What are you hoping the reader takes from your book?

More than anything I want my readers to be entertained. I want them to escape whatever they are doing and join Mel and Matt in their story. I want readers to be thinking about Mel and what direction her life will take when they have to leave her to get on with their real lives, and I want them to be happy to re-unite with her again when they pick up the book. I’m not out to challenge anybody and I don’t have a world-changing message for anybody. I simply want to entertain. When readers finish Love at First Flight, I would hope they are satisfied and that it captured their imagination.

When did the idea for the book come to you?

I was standing at the kitchen sink washing dishes and staring out into the back garden day dreaming. Out of nowhere a scene unfolded before me, of a woman returning home to her husband, her heart broken, and I quickly grabbed pen and paper and wrote that scene down. From there, the rest of the story came and that one scene that inspired me to write the story ended up being about half way into the book.

Have you always wanted to be a writer?

No not at all. I loved writing but never really thought of it as a career option. I became a writer because a story came to me when I was 36 years old that I just had to share.

What were you career plans as a child?

I wanted to be an actress, a ballerina, a doctor, a teacher, you name it. More than anything though, even when I was very young, I wanted to grow up get married and become a mum.

Where do you write and is this your ideal location or is there some other place you would love to be while you write?

Snuggled up in bed. I’ve tried to be bohemian and trendy and take my laptop to hipster cafes to write, but I am just too distractable and get nothing done. I need to be tucked up in bed, late at night, hubby snoring peacefully next to me and that’s where I do my best work

What gives you inspiration for your writing?

I’m inspired by the people I am closest to, my family and my close friends. I use a lot of what goes on in our lives to inspire my writing. I’m inspired by stories of hope, stories of survival. I love the underdog.

If you could share a meal with any author, who would it be, and why?

I'd love to share a meal with Alli Sinclair. She lives on the other side of Australia and I wish I could have a meal with her today and have a lovely catch up.

Give us one pet hate or guilty pleasure...Or both!

My guilty pleasure is the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. I record the show, I read their blogs, I google them when the show isn't on, it's a sad, sad obsession :).

Share one random fact about yourself.

I am a die hard knitter. If I haven't got knitting needles in my hands before bed I don't wind down.

What's next...?

I’m writing my second book and I’m very excited! I am writing a contemporary romance called Flat White With One which is about my main character Mel’s son as an adult (he is a teenager in Love at First Flight). Nick is Australia’s most popular football player, a real playboy who falls for a young, conservative Egyptian girl named Anna with a tragic past who is anything but the typical footballer’s girlfriend. Flat White With One is their love story. Nick and Anna are tested by her family, Nick’s football community and the Australian public as nobody seems to approve of them being together.

 

 


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Tesswoods.harpercollins?ref=hl

Website: http://www.tesswoods.com.au